Crockpot Turkey Chili

imagesI have been waiting all summer, for it to be fall, so I could put our crock pot to good use and make some soup. On our first perfectly fall Sunday, I decided to make some Crock pot Turkey Chili! It’s sooo easy to make, so delicious, and healthy too! I love making my own soup, its just a pot full of vegetables of your own choice!

As I spoke to my Dad, a rather adventurous chef himself, about my plan to make turkey chili, I was confused as to where I was going to find some of the ingredients that were mentioned in the recipe I was originally following. He excitedly told me that especially with chili, I do not need to follow any sort of recipe at all, and to just have fun with it! He is and has always been a huge proponent of adventurous cooking, every Sunday firing up a crazy meal of whatever was left in the fridge. My family and I have been begging him to go on Chopped for years, but we are also a little reluctant as he can be a bit hot tempered and competitive, and we wouldn’t want him to be the token mean guy.

I digress!

image3


INGREDIENTS:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 lb ground turkey
1 medium onion, diced
1 red pepper, chopped
1 yellow pepper, chopped
2 (15 oz) cans tomato sauce
2 (15 oz) cans petite diced tomatoes
2 (15 oz) cans black beans, rinsed and drained
2 (15oz) cans red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
2 jalapenos, chopped (no seeds! unless you’re ready for some serious spice)
1 can of corn
2 tablespoons chili powder
1 tablespoon cumin
Salt and black pepper, to taste

DIRECTIONS:

1. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat. Place turkey in the skillet, and cook until brown. Pour turkey into slow cooker.

2. Add the onion, peppers, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, beans, jalapeños, corn, chili powder, and cumin. Stir and season with salt and pepper (and whatever else you feel like adding!)

.image_4

3. Cover and cook on High for 4 hours or low for 6 hours. As directed from my Dad, the longer you cook, the thicker it gets so if your chili is not at your desired thickness after the aforementioned times, keep it cookin’!

4. Serve with toppings, such as shredded cheese, chopped scallions, sour cream, yogurt, or whatever is in your fridge!

image_9

Leave a Reply

